Good News and Links for the Weekend

Later this afternoon I’ll be publishing some commentary on this week’s Tao quotes. Perhaps one of my not-so-short-form pieces will get finished as well? In the meantime, here are some goodies from the interwebs for you to enjoy this weekend:

Hopefully you enjoyed my pro-dog/anti-anti-dog polemic in response to this Slate article. In addition to my polemic, the piece generated a lot of comments under the article, on Slate’s Facebook page, as well as a piece by Chloe Schama at The New Republic, and another by Zach Schonfeld over at The Atlantic Wire. I could probably write a second polemic in response to the TNR article, but I choose not to.

The Daily Beast posted some funny/frightening photos of bewildered dads at One Direction concerts.

See some (NSFW) photos of individuals who identify as masculine. The photographer put an ad in craigslist and this is what happened.

In a boon to viability of Buzzfeed’s business model and LOLcat photo creators everywhere, scientists have discovered a very adorable, long misidentified mammal. The story is interesting and… …yeah the thing is seriously cute.

While he has for years enjoyed being able to criticize and lampoon a truly absurd right-wing insurgency in the American polity, it is still important to remember that Paul Krugman is as much a hack as anybody else. (Hat Tip: The Dish)

I’m aware of 19 cases of voter fraud, in the whole USA, during the 2012 election. Two of them were right-wing nuts trying to prove how easy vote fraud is to commit… …except they both got caught (bonus: their guy lost). The other 17 cases I know of were in Colorado, which has declared that all 17 voters were legit. How about that.

I think it’s pretty cool that WWE superstar Darren Young came out in an interview with TMZ. I think it’s especially sweet that this was in response to a question about whether or not a gay wrestler could succeed. The quote:

“look at me. I’m a WWE superstar, and to be honest with you, I’ll tell you right now, I’m gay. And I’m happy. I’m very happy.”

That’s a nice note to end on for now. Enjoy your day! Come back for some more philosophical and political commentary over the course of the weekend

Want to comment or ask a question? Send Diogenes an email.

About Diogenes

Cynic, digital cosmopolitan
This entry was posted in good news, good reads and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.