Lunch Link Love

I’m not being lazy, I’m getting my Ei Viitsi on!

 

From my way back when bookmarks of things to blog about later, check out this infographic of 21 emotional states with no English words (the words are in other languages, many of them non-phoenetic, but the descriptions are great).

Sticking with the number 21, Lifehack.org has 21 common expressions often used incorrectly. I admit I’m guilting of palming off “pawn off” as a phrase many times. I had no idea! Most of the rest of them I haven’t misused or even seen/heard misused. I do remember many years ago listening to some boor say at a gathering “I cease to amaze myself” and I commented “I’m right there with you.” That’s all that comes to mind (and it’s not even on the list).

Slate’s history blog The Vault has a post up about, and including, a mid-century map of American folklore. Mid 20th century, of course.

Apparently Mark Zuckerberg and friends want to provide internet to everybody. Coincidentally, developing more profitable service provider businesses is the way to do this [I detect sarcasm]. Do I yawn, grimace, or both? Is there a fancy foreign word for what I’m feeling? [English already has this covered, dude: the word is ‘contempt’]

Another perfect #slatepitch: Farhad Manjoo writes about how he hired an online personal assistant and how that did not work well for him. It looks like an interesting read. Will one of you please read this and send me a summary by end of business today? Thank you.

For all my fellow writers out there, who like me read about writing as much or more than we write, here is an interview with Junot Diaz about how he writes.

Some belated good news: President Obama has replaced the White House solar panels that had been removed by then-President Reagan.

And last, an update from The Oatmeal on the origins of that recently discovered mammal species.

Want to comment or submit your own link? Send Diogenes an email or submit a comment online. You can also comment on the Facebook page.

About Diogenes

Cynic, digital cosmopolitan
This entry was posted in good reads and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.