Leibniz of the Day

While I had a poll going to pick the next featured philosopher I received this write-in from a reader:

Leibniz pleeeease 😀

Ask and ye shall receive:

“I also take it as granted that every created thing, and consequently the created monad also, is subject to change, and indeed that this change is continual in each one.”

Gottfried Leibniz was a remarkable man. He was a genius thinker and inventor at a time when one such man could have a truly remarkable impact on every field of human endeavor.

Like Descartes, Leibniz was in general a rationalist and in specific came at philosophy from a mathematical point of view. Such philosophers always seem to me fun to read and engage, but not very valuable when it comes wisdom for every day life. To wit, this is fun:

“I do not conceive of any reality at all as without genuine unity.”

I love mentally masturbating with this idea and I suppose I can remember it every day… …but whatever. It’s no tao teh ching:

“Nature does not hurry and all is accomplished.”

That shit makes every day of my life better. That’s just me, of course. For someone not predisposed to see the universe in unity, Leibniz is probably just as useful as Laotse is to someone who is impatient and demanding at every turn of events. [yeah dude, that’s us]

I admit I haven’t read Leibniz in a long time and I bet I would fall in love with him again if I did. [that’s because you fall in love with all of them, every time] Except Kant. [well yeah, not Kant *shudder*]

I also remembered vaguely a great Leibniz quote about music, which Google helped me rediscover in full:

“Music is the pleasure the human mind experiences from counting without being aware that it is counting.”

Somewhere in my mind this thought is bouncing around any time I am consumed by Bach. [oooohhhh ich liebe die Musik von Bach] So instead of hating on Leibniz for being too abstract, let me leave you with that music quote and an assist by Johann Sebastian to make it experiential. Enjoy the counting…

Want to comment on this post? Send Diogenes an email or submit a comment online. You can also comment on the Facebook page.

About Diogenes

Cynic, digital cosmopolitan
This entry was posted in dailies, digressions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.